Tag Archives: liquid liquid

VA- Not Wave

This comp came out in 08 as a joint release by DFA and Rong Music. It has a few original No-wave tracks but is mostly a presentation newer acts inspired by the old dogs of New York’s east Village. I like that they got two of the dudes from Liquid Liquid to remix a Tussle track. They also have King Heroin by James Chance and the Contortions, who is definitely one of my favorite bands from that period of time in NY. I really like the production on East West Axis by Research, any song with dope bass line, some killer funk riffs, and an old school drum machine loop got me hooked. Yuup, satisfied by my purchase.

Here’s what BOOMKAT had to say:
A joint release between Rong Music and DFA, this compilation strives to offer an alternative slant on the famed New York no-wave sound, helpfully suggesting: “it’s kinda like No-Wave, but Not.” The selection features new artists from around the world, plus originators of the movement like James Chance & The Contortions, throwing into the bargain a total of eight exclusive tracks. While the level of diversity on show throughout Notwave is exceptionally broad – running from the jagged guitar battery of Striplight to the housey grooves of New Jersey producer Mr. Chin – the essential spirit of the original movement remains more or less intact, with cuts like ‘The River Art’ by Research notching up the authenticity factor with an arrhythmic grasp on jazz/punk crossover. Proving that the new school have just as much to offer, Brooklyn’s Free Blood condense the very essence of what ‘Notwave’ might mean, making bizarre, semi-improvised electronics feel like party music. Recommended.

01. Quad Throw Salchow – Unwelcome Guest
02. Non-stop – Hydration Explosion
03. Striplight – No Search No Entry (Tim Love Lee dub)
04. Tussle – Elephants Meandering (Sal Principato & Dennis Young mix)
05. Mr. Chin – Faces vs Fractions (Trust)
06. Circuits – Pistols at Dawn (Tim ‘Love’ Lee’s Fully Bearded mix)
07. Freshro – I Turn My Camera On
08. Welcome Stranger – Smoke Machine
09. Free Blood – Weekend
10. Scotty Coats – Beautiful Ones
11. Research – East West Axis
12. Scotty Coats – Lude Boy the Rude Boy
13. James Chance & The Contortions – King Heroin
14. Research – The River Art


Tagged , , , ,

Tussle- Telescope Mind

So the dudes from tussle have a new album coming out soon on Smalltown Supersound, I’m pretty excited for that. Telescope Mind is an album they put out in 2006 full of dark synth tones and disco drums. With four members playing with samplers, synthesizers, multiple effects processors, bass guitars, and various percussion instruments the music is reminiscent to Liquid Liquid minus vocals.

Here is what prefix mag had to say:

There’s no way around it: Tussle is strictly about cerebral, ass-shaking grooves. The members of this San Francisco quartet exposed this dedication on their mysterious 2004 debut, Kling Klang, an instrumental record — similar to Out Hud’s debut — that derived its funkiness from the forefathers of Krautrock, post-punk, dub and minimal techno. Released during a time when the spastic joy of the Rapture’s Echoes was becoming a bit outplayed and before LCD Soundsystem began playing in your house, Tussle’s effortless refinement of improvised jams gave indie kids a new reason to dance. Two years have passed, and the crew has gone through a significant lineup change. But the grooves still take the spotlight on the band’s sophomore album, ushering in an exciting release that is downright fun (how often can you say that about instrumental music?) and a welcome return to uncontrived instrumental rhythms.

And the keyword here is rhythm. The group is made up entirely of a rhythm section: two drummers, one bass guitarist, one electronics expert, and all four handling various percussion, from cymbals to cowbells, buckets to bicycle wheels. For a band that focuses so heavily on tasty bass lines, the loss of original bassist Andy Cabic last year to Devendra Banhart’s supporting band and his own solo project, Vetiver, would seem overwhelming. But the band has seamlessly shifted around, with original drummer Alexis Georgopoulos switching over to bass and Warren Huegel taking over on drums. Sonically, I doubt anyone would notice any alterations, and better yet, the reformed lineup exposes a group that is tighter and more accessible.

1 Lyre
2 Warning
3 Second Guessing
4 Kindermusik
5 Cloud Melodie
6 Elephants
7 The Story Of Meteorites
8 Flicker/33.3
9 Invisible City
10 Trappings
11 Cloud Melodie II
12 Pow!

I present you with, Tussle- Telescope Mind

Tagged , , ,