Monthly Archives: April 2011

Gatto Fritto

We’ve had our eye on Gatto Fritto ever since he graced the world with Bursting the Bubble back in 08′. And now, his debut full length album has finally arrived…and it was well worth the wait. It’s an amazing synthesis of Kraut-era electronic experimentation and milky midnight disco which will send each listener through various electronic galaxies. Space boots on…


1. The Curse
2. The Hex
3. Grinding Of The Brakes
4. Solar Flares Burn For You
5. Lucifer Morning Star
6. Invisible College
7. My Etheric Body
8. Beachy Head

here’s a tiny taste…

Tagged ,

Mapzzz Mix01 – Bobby Peru

thizz.face.disco’s Bobby Peru made a mix for the homies who run the Mapzzz blog..

Here’s what they had to say about it:

Maybe we’re alone on this, but we can remember a time in–say–middle school, when all we needed to start a weekend dance party was gather 10 or 15 friends at someone’s house (whose parents were out of town, of course) and throw on the local hip-hop station where a decent enough DJ would be throwing down some hot jams. Well, we’re not in middle school anymore and our musical tastes have moved far beyond the realm of commercial radio, but sometimes we still find ourselves with moments of helpless yearning, in search of an easy dance party starter. And with that in mind, we present the first installment of a new mix series where we will feature some of our favorite mix masters giving us 30 minutes of fresh, funky, and most of all body-movin’ tunes. We have the honor of featuring Oakland’s own DJ, promoter, blogger, and all around future-music man, Mike Melero (a.k.a. Bobby Peru) for the first in our series. Melero can be found concocting sets of future-beat madness most nights of the week in between running his monthly Booze Waazi parties and maintaining the always on-point Thizz Face Disco blog. On this particular outing, Melero takes us through 30 minutes of slippery, syrupy, bass music; starting off with a few choice head nodders before jumping into some deliciously uptempo madness. D/l this beast, grab some friends, and clear the floor.

1. devonwho – braketime (shlohmo’s reiteration)
2. Flying Lotus – Robo Tussin Ft. Lil Wayne
3. Supra 1 – Still Believe feat. Amy Douglas (L-Vis 1990 Remix Dub)
4. 9th Ward Tea – Pulla Muscle (Gutta Bounce Remix)
5. Salva – Blue
6. Squarehead – On The Line
7. Poni Hoax – We Are The Bankers (Renaissance Man Dub Mix)
8. Groove Theory – Tell Me (Brenmar House Mix)
9. Boom Bip – One Of Eleven
10. Sonora – Paraiso (Mexicans with Guns Remix)
11. Klaxons & Yaaard – YAAARD of Calm Trees
12. Steve Gurley – freak ‘n u (dub)
13. Policia – Sensible
14. Nathan Fake – Narrier
15. Kid606 – Samhain California
16. Daroc – A Bout De Souffle

Todd Terje – Ragysh

It’s been over 5years since we’ve heard any “new” songs from Todd Terje. During the past half decade he has been supplying us with some of the greatest edits & remixes of countless disco/house gems. But now, the so-called “Remaster of the Universe” returns to the helm with this sweet 4track EP entitled Ragysh. And now that he has given us another taste of his solo work, we are just left wanting more…


01. Ragysh
02. Snooze 4 Love
03. Snooze 4 Love (Version)
04. Bonysh

Preview the title track below::::

Tagged , ,

Nicolas Jaar – Time For Us b/w Mi Mujer

Nicolas Jaar has been making quite a stir on the electronic music scene since his last album, Space Is Only Noise, dropped earlier this year. At just 20years of age, this young lad is already gaining international notoriety for weirdly nocturnal jams. Jaar mixes ingredients from many genres like deep house, downtempo, and future jazz to create his own palette of morphine drenched noise accompanied with low Nick Cave-like vocals. Definitely someone to keep an eye on…


Stream the A side below::::

Tagged , ,

Lone – Echolocations

U.K. producer Lone returns to surface with his early-90’s Euro house licks in tow and presents us with the spectacular Echolocations EP. Compared to his last effort, Emerald Fantasy Tracks, Lone has stepped up his dance game and delivers a fresh 21st century view of classic rave music with melodies from the fourth dimension.


Stream below::::

Tagged , ,