MARS // Complete Studio Recordings NYC 1977-1978

I was first exposed to the madness that is Mars on the excellent No New York compilation that was put together by Brian Eno that showcased some of the best No Wave acts from late 70’s NYC. Impulsive and chaotic, the band Mars only survived two years together playing around 30 gigs and recording only 32minutes of music (all of which is presented on this album). This one is definitely is piece of musical history….like them or not, Mars brought something new to the table.

Here’s what Lydia Lunch had to say about’em:
Static transmissions from a distant dark star. Taking up and tripping out further than the Velvet Underground’s Black Angel Death Song. MARS punished not with blunt force, but with a propulsive agitation which signaled a neurological insanity. A crippled tension swathed in nervous friction. A cavernous musical universe riddled with eerie sound storms whose poisoned atmosphere seduced and threatened. Obtuse and unforgiving. Sickly sexy. Red noise redefining bass urges, forcing the listener to question their own sanity by drilling into ear holes using electroshock guitars as saw blades trepanning into grey matter….


1. 3E
2. 11,000 Volts
3. Helen Fordsdale
4. Hair Waves
5. Tunnel
6. Puerto Rican Ghost
7. N.N. End
8. Scorn
9. Outside Africa
10. Monopoly
11. The Immediate Stages of the Erotic

Tagged , ,

One thought on “MARS // Complete Studio Recordings NYC 1977-1978

  1. M.J. says:

    Hey, is there any way to renew this link? Please let me know!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: