topss by bobby peru

So it’s time for the all important list of top music releases and movies, that categorizes me into one stereotype or the other….I’ve been holding out on you. haha. It’s been a year of summer time anthems for music and end of the world themed flicks. Anyways, here are my pickz.

Releases:

Various Artist– Ghana Special: Modern Highlife, Afro Sounds & Ghanaian Blues 1968-1981

This album has filled my world music fix for the past few months. Amazing grooves and vocal patterns make this album my top pick. This is the Label that released the Nigerian Disco Funk Special a couple years back, which is one of my favorites. I remember when liking world music was lame. haha.

Hudson Mohawke– Polyfolk Dance EP

This dudes beats will fade anyone.

Neon Indian– Psychic Chasms

The two hits on this album made the rest of the album tolerable, just check out Dead Beat Summer and Terminally Chill. I probably wouldn’t go to one of their shows but the music is fun and hazy at the same time, that’s always a good time.

Abe Vigoda– Reviver

I listened to this EP way too much in the beginning of the year, it’s great. Dark and morose but at the same time still up beat. They are self proclaimed tropical punk. I can dig it, can you?

Prefuse 73– Everything she touched turned Ampexian

I will pretty much side with Prefuse on any debate. Even though this isn’t a debate I am picking this album mostly because I want Prefuse to not sound like Prefuse any more. This album was an expected step for the journeyman beat smith. The only feeling this album gives me is… what’s next, dude?


Movin Pictures

When it comes to films I mostly stick to the ones that have the most explosions rather than most interesting camera angle, while I appreciate the art of film making I mostly like the movies that are meant to entertain rather than insight and enlighten me. I pretty much like movies that have a character who is a Badass. That’s right… a fucking BADASS. Here are my top 5 BADASS movies of the year two thousand and nine…!

Sin Nombre

Tyson

Bad Lieutenant

Black Dynamite

Inglourious Basterds

SOOOOO>>>>>>

I also included a playlist of some of my favorite beat oriented tracks from this past year. This goes out to all my low brow, scandalous, scummy, under paid, procrastinating brothers and sisters. Nod your head and blaze a Bleeeeeeeeee.!

2010 is for us to get our shit together. yeeYEE!
Happy New Year.

PLAYLIST:

JUST JAMM IT 2:10 Breakfast Mountain
Beep 16 1:11 Koushik
Fire Wood Drumstix (feat. Doom) 1:31 J Dilla
Anything Worse 4:15 The Gaslamp Killer
Party 2:59 Powell Beatnicks Tape #02
Polkadot Blues 3:00 Hudson Mohawke
1685/Bach 2:48 Nosaj Thing
Freak Love 2:52 Toro Y Moi
Luck 2:14 Washed Out
S’Vive 4:06 Bibio
vibrationz 2:12 Javelin
Parachute Panador 1:04 Prefuse 73
Want You Back 4:10 Nite Jewel
Thin Moon 2:56 James Pants
My Step 3:27 Little Dragon
Bebey (DJ /rupture and Matt Shadetek Remix) 5:13 Gang Gang Dance
Antillas (Banana Clipz (Bersa Discos) Remix) 3:46 El Guincho
Love Cry (Joy Orbison Remix) 4:54 Four Tet
Stop Talking 7:05 Memory Tapes


Now that the electronic music is covered I felt one sided, so here is a collection of some other tunes I dug this year that didn’t categorize as beatz. It’s mostly indie rock tunes, an Animal Collective Remix, and a Re Issue of the song Tamale.

I call this play list… et al:

Mirando (Animal Collective remix) 9:57 Ratatat
Mickey Mouse 5:31 Wavves
House 4:07 Abe Vigoda
Dark House 3:53 The Mayfair Set
Die Tonight 2:18 Ty Segall Lemons
Angry Charlie 3:40 Generationals
Sparxxx 2:42 The Love Language
I Just Want To See You Underwater 4:47 Here We Go Magic
Trashy Boys 4:57 Tickley Feather
Tamale 3:11 Pagadeja
Remade Horizon 3:55 The Dirty Projectors
Suburban Dogs 4:36 Real Estate
Pleasant Experience 3:33 Small Black
Highway Ribbon 3:54 Brian Glaze
One track mind 2:03 Mayer Hawthorne

Eloi’s list will be up soon, son!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

