Root’s of Chichas: Psychedelic Cumbias from Peru

Quite possibly my favorite album of 2008, this is the album that got me on this world music tip, I’ve been on for the past year or so. While my friends travel the world, I just listen to albums from the countries I think are cool. haha. One day I will venture out of Oakland and see the world but until then world music will suffice. With the weather being shitty like it’s been lately this album will definitely brighten up the most lonely and rainiest of days. With amazing drum patterns, killer bass lines, and group vocal harmonies on pretty much every song you can’t go wrong.

Here’s a video of Jauneco Y Su Combo

I’ve been on the search for solo albums for most of these bands and haven’t really found anything. I think Eloi found a Jauneco y Su Combo album but other then that nada. There was another comp from Peru that had a lot of their underground Rock and Roll sounds circulating amongst our group of friends, but no one seems to know what happened to it or took time to digitize it; so If you know of any cool stuff from this part of the world let me know.

ENJOY.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HTHQQIWG

Leave a Reply

